Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Libguides Library Account

Databases: Eolas

About

Eolas is a name we use for a tool called EBSCO Discovery Service. To you it looks like a big search box on the library website. We have also placed an advanced search link on the website which gives you more search options. 

 To view the images in more detail, click on them and they will open in a new browser tab.

The icon usually contains a tooltip.

Read Later

Save ebooks and articles to read later when you click on the folder icon.

Export Citation to Endnote

What is Eolas?

laptop userWhat am I searching?

Most of the library databases. You are also searching some pre-selected open access resources such as DOAJ, (Directory of Open Access Journals) Ethos, (Doctoral dissertations from the British Library) and The Cochrane Library. (Free in Ireland)

Also, you are searching the library catalogue (print books in the library)

We have limiters set on Eolas from the get go so that the content you access should be in full text only. We have excluded results that have only abstracts and tried to exclude book reviews.

What is Publication Finder?

publication finderNot just an A-Z of all the journals we currently subscribe to, but also of our back issues. It is really easy to use. Just type the name of the journal you are looking for, or browse alphabetically. 

(Branding in video below is different- but our version works the same way)

Not Included in Eolas

IHS, Digital Theatre Plus, Ebook central (but they are loaded through the catalogue), Web of Science, Irish Times Archive, SAI Global Standards

Also, we purchase individual journals for each school. Each of these titles goes into Publication Finder, but they are usually not searchable in Eolas.

Links