Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

Leadership and Advocacy

Ebooks

 

ATU Sligo Library has purchased ebooks from a variety of suppliers. They are catalogued individually and each record provides a link to the relevant full text source. This guide provides details on how to access ebooks on a range of different platforms. 

How can I find ebooks using the Library catalogue?

Use the Library Catalogue or EOLAS to find individual titles available as ebooks.

You can search for these by entering a keyword,  title, author. Refine your results to “ebooks”  by using the filter options on the left hand side of the screen.

To access an ebook click on the link to full text e.g. PDF Full Text or EPUB Full Text

Reading or downloading on campus?

If you are using a computer on campus or on a shared workspace you should select the Read Online option.

You can download ebooks to personal devices or computers. ( You may need additional software, please see the relevant tab for details)

 

 

Our main ebook database is EBSCO Academic Collection with access to over 200,000 ebooks. These are also searchable through EOLAS

We order on demand if a key text that is available as an ebook is missing from our collection. 

 

 

Downloading Ebooks

Unless you have bad internet or need access while travelling etc. we recommend you read the ebooks in the browser. You can install a plugin for Edge or Chrome called Midnight Lizard to change the background colour or font colour. 

Downloading from a windows device

In order to download the ebooks you first need to have installed software called Adobe Digital editions and you need an adobe id. We will assume you have already installed this software and authorised the pc you are on with your adobe id.

If Admin rights are an issue you can download the Koretext reader from the windows store. 

About the Ebooks

Individual Ebooks

We have a growing collection of individually ordered ebooks. We get these ebooks from Proquest and EBSCO. These are searchable in EOLAS.  We keep records with links for these also in the library catalogue. 

Ebooks  Database

EBSCO Academic Collection has over 200,000  ebooks. These are all searchable in EOLAS

 

Quick Links

We order Individual ebooks for your courses. They come from 2 different ebook vendors, EBSCO and Proquest. We also catalogue a small number of open access ebooks or reports etc. 

All Individually Ordered Ebooks
Individually Ordered Proquest EBooks
Individually Ordered EBSCO eBOOKS

We also have a large ebooks database with over 200,000 ebooks:

Academic Collection (Ebook Database)