Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • library.itsligo.ie
  • Databases A-Z
  • Choose Academic Search Complete (EBSCO Host) from the list

You may need to enter your IT Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@mail.itsligo.ie and IT Sligo Password 
(Students should try their student number alone with IT Sligo password if their email does not work)

Staff: lastname.firstname@itsligo.ie and IT Sligo Password 

Searching

On the search screen, enter the term tourism        
(The system automatically provides you with a series of similar terms from which you may choose.  To ignore the suggestions and retain the word(s) you entered, Click the cursor in a blank portion of the screen)

The Search Options allow you to use a number of different search modes.  For example:  
Boolean/Phrase                                 tourism AND environment
Find all my search terms                   sustainable tourism Ireland
Find any of my search terms             tourism tourists travel
Smart text searching                                   
This allows you to type a sentence or more and the database will interpret it for you.  For example,  "How will the development of the environmental and green agenda affect tourism?" 

Another option available when searching is to use a wild card *.  For example, searching tour* will retrieve results including tours, tourism, tourists etc.

Note: An important option is PDF Full Text.  This will limit the results of your search to those items which include a pdf of the full text of the article.

When you have entered your search terms and selected your options, Click Search
Your results are displayed. To ensure most recent items display at the top of the list, Click the drop down menu at Relevance at the top of the list and choose Date Newest

When viewing a list of articles a number of options are shown at the left of the screen to narrow your results:  For example:
●    Choosing Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals will limit your results to material of an academic nature.
●    You can also limit your results by Publication Date.

To view an individual item, Click on the title or the HTML or PDF link.

Combining Search Terms

Click Advanced Search just under the search box.  This brings you to a search screen which provides you with a series of boxes allowing you to create a more complex search.  For example, you could specify that all your search terms should appear in the titles of articles, or, you could search the subject headings assigned to articles.  (Note: Clicking Clear removes previous terms from the search boxes)

Combining Search Terms

Example 1

Example 2

Academic Search Complete has many other features which you can explore as you become more familiar with the database.  

Introduction

Academic Search Complete contains c6600 full text journals, the majority of which are peer reviewed.  A broad range of subjects is covered in the humanities, social science, science and engineering.

Extra Help

You should use the various help features available in the databases.  Check out the ? icon at each stage of the search or click Help at the top of each screen.