eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) contains over 200000 ebooks in full text.
Available from the library web site:
You may need to enter your ATU Sligo user name and password:
Students: email@example.com and ATU Sligo Password
Staff: firstname.lastname@example.org and ATU Sligo Password
The main screen contains featured and highlighted ebooks. There is a search box at the top of the screen.
As an example, type human resource managment in the search box and Click Search.
Your results are displayed. To ensure most recent items display at the top of the list, Click the drop down menu at Relevance at the top of the list and choose Date Newest.
When viewing the list of ebooks resulting from your search, a number of options are shown at the left of the screen to refine your results: For example:
To see more details on an item in the results list, Click on the title. You will see details of the book. Towards the left of the screen there are one or more of the following links:
Click Advanced Search just under the search box. This brings you to a search screen which provides you with a series of boxes allowing you to create a more complex search. For example, you could specify that all your search terms should appear in the titles of books, or, you could search the subject headings assigned to books. (Note: Clicking Clear removes previous terms from the search boxes)
The Search Options allow you to use a number of different search modes. For example:
Boolean/Phrase tourism AND environment
Find all my search terms sustainable tourism Ireland
Find any of my search terms tourism tourists travel
Smart text searching
This allows you to type a sentence or more and the database will interpret it for you. For example, "How will the development of the environmental and green agenda affect tourism?"
You can also limit your search to items with Full Text, with a certain Published Date, etc.
Another option available when searching is to use a wild card *. For example, searching tour* will retrieve results including tours, tourism, tourists etc.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection has many other features which you can explore as you become more familiar with the database.
You should use the various help features available in the databases. Check out the ? icon at each stage of the search or click Help at the top of each screen.