Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost ) Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Introduction

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) contains over 170000 ebooks in full text.

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • library.itsligo.ie
  • Databases A - Z
  • Choose eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) from the list

You may need to enter your IT Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@mail.itsligo.ie and IT Sligo Password 
(Students should try their student number alone with IT Sligo password if their email does not work)

Staff: lastname.firstname@itsligo.ie and IT Sligo Password

Searching

The main screen contains featured and highlighted ebooks.  There is a search box at the top of the screen.

As an example, type human resource managment in the search box and Click Search.

Your results are displayed.  To ensure most recent items display at the top of the list, Click the drop down menu at Relevance at the top of the list and choose Date Newest.

Viewing Results

When viewing the list of ebooks resulting from your search, a number of options are shown at the left of the screen to refine your results:  For example:

  • Ticking Download Available will limit results to items with full text available online.
  • Ticking Exclude Abridged Titles limits to full versions only
  • You can also limit your results by Publication Date.
  • You can view items on certain subjects, from certain publishers, in certain languages etc.

To see more details on an item in the results list, Click on the title.  You will see details of the book.  Towards the left of the screen there are one or more of the following links:

  • A link to a pdf format copy of the full text of the book
  • A link to an Epub format copy of the full text of the book
    • For these options, you will need to remain on eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) to read the book.
  • There is also a facility to Download the ebook to a laptop or tablet or other device for a set period of time so it can be read offline.  You will need to sign into EBSCOhost to do this.  Contact library@itsligo.ie if you require assistance with this.
     

Combining Search Terms

Click Advanced Search just under the search box.  This brings you to a search screen which provides you with a series of boxes allowing you to create a more complex search.  For example, you could specify that all your search terms should appear in the titles of books, or, you could search the subject headings assigned to books.  (Note: Clicking Clear removes previous terms from the search boxes)

The Search Options allow you to use a number of different search modes.  For example:  
Boolean/Phrase                                        tourism AND environment
Find all my search terms                         sustainable tourism Ireland
Find any of my search terms                  tourism tourists travel
Smart text searching                                   
This allows you to type a sentence or more and the database will interpret it for you.  For example,  "How will the development of the environmental and green agenda affect tourism?" 

You can also limit your search to items with Full Text, with a certain Published Date, etc.

Another option available when searching is to use a wild card *.  For example, searching tour* will retrieve results including tours, tourism, tourists etc.

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection has many other features which you can explore as you become more familiar with the database.  
 

Extra Help

You should use the various help features available in the databases.  Check out the ? icon at each stage of the search or click Help at the top of each screen.