Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

IEEEXplore Digital Library Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Introduction

IEEExplore provides full text access to over 4 million documents including journal articles, conference proceedings and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and its publishing partners. 
Note:  The ATU Libraries' subscription includes full text access to journals, conference proceedings and some standards.  It does not include full text access to ebooks.

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • https://atu.ie/library and choose ATU Sligo
  • Databases A-Z
  • Choose IEEE xplore Digital Library from the list

You may need to enter your ATU Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

Staff: firstname.lastname@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 
 

Basic Search

For example, type the term semiconductor in the search box
(The system automatically provides you with a series of similar terms from which you may choose.  To ignore the suggestions and retain the word(s) you entered, Click the cursor in a blank portion of the screen)

Click  
You are presented with a list of articles.  Under Show on the left of the screen, tick My Subscribed Content to limit results to items in IT Sligo library’s subscription which have full text.

To see the full text of an article on the list, Click the pdf link.  To see details of one of the items on the list, Click the title.  

When viewing a list of references, there are a number of ways to limit it. 

  • At the top of the screen you can:
    • Tick to limit it to:  Conferences; Journals; Magazines; Early Access Articles; Standards; Courses above the list of references
    • Search within results on your list to find items with particular keywords
  • In the column to the left of the list of references you can:
    • Limit by Year
    • Limit the list to items:
      • By particular authors
      • From particular publishers, etc.  (You may have to scroll down to see all the options)

Advanced Search

Click on Advanced Search (under the basic search box)
Type semiconductor in the first box and “circuit breaker” in the second box.  In both cases choose Document Title from the drop down menu after in.   Click Search
Both these words will appear in the titles of articles shown on the list of results.

 

Browsing

You can browse journals and other publications by Clicking on Browse at the top of the screen.  You are provided with a drop down menu of publication types.  Note again that ATU Libraries' subscription does not include access to ebooks.

Extra Help

Additional help is available by Clicking the ? icon or by choosing one of the topics under Learn More to the right of the search box on the Advanced Search Page.  There is also a Help dropdown menu towards the top of the page.