Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

IHS Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • library.itsligo.ie
  • Databases A - Z
  • Choose IHS from the list

You may need to enter your IT Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@mail.itsligo.ie and IT Sligo Password 
(Students should try their student number alone with IT Sligo password if their email does not work)

Staff: lastname.firstname@itsligo.ie and IT Sligo Password 

There are a number of information resources available through IHS.  Note:  For standards see also:  SAI Global for ISO, EN and IS standards; BSOL for a selection of British Standards; IEEExplore.

Irish Construction Information Service Plus

This contains documents of relevance to the construction industry.  Despite the title it includes documents from the UK.  To open the resource click on the title or View Product.

Simple Search Example

Enter the term paving in the search box. The system automatically provides you with a series of similar terms from which you may choose.  To ignore this and retain the word(s) you entered, Click the cursor in a blank portion of the screen. The dropdown menu at Search Options allows you to choose if you want to search content included in full text in your subscription (Within my Subscription Only) or include documents for which there is only bibliographic information (Within Every Supplement).  Note:  For standards, see also SAI Global and BSOL Custom.
Click 
Click  on the title of a document in the column on the left
In the document detail screen, Click Download to view the full text. 

Advanced Search Example

Close the tab with the open document and Click Home to return to the search screen, Click Advanced (to the right of the search box) and enter the term insulation in the In the Title search box.  Click Search.  A list of documents displays.
In the dropdown menu under Relevance (over column with the list of results) choose Newest First.
Click on the title of a document for access to details and the full text.

Browsing

In the blue column to the left of the Search Screen you are given the choice of browsing by Subjects, Publishers and Series.
To use other IHS products Click Sign out of CIS and choose More IHS Markit Products to return to the Main screen where you can also search...

Specify IT - Enhanced

Contains over 10,000 supplier details. The Library subscription is limited to basic information on companies.

Engineer IT - Enhanced

Provides product and supplier information on engineering components, materials, equipment and services. Search features are similar to Specify-it above.
Both sources Specify-it and Engineer-it, allow you to search for product or company names.