Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

Irish Times Archive Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Introduction

The Library’s subscription to The Irish Times archive provides access to the full text of the newspaper since 1859.  Articles from the past week may not be available in full text.

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • https://atu.ie/library and select ATU Sligo. 
  • Databases A-Z
  • Choose Irish Times Archive from the list

You may need to enter your ATU user name and password:
Students: studentnumber@atu.ie and ATU Password 
Staff: firstname.lastname@atu.ie and ATU Password

 

Search

On the main screen, ignore “Not a subscriber” and also ignore “Sign in to continue”.  
Towards the left of the screen there is a Search by Keyword tab.
Type the word education in the Keywords search box.  
Choose 01/01/2018 in the From box. (Note:  Use the popup calendar to choose the date)
Choose 16/08/2021 in the To box.  
From the dropdown menu at Relevance, select Newest.  (This will make latest articles appear at the top of your list)
Click Search

A list of articles will appear.  You can Click on any of them to view the article.

At the top of the list you will notice two tabs.  
●    IRISHTIMES.COM [1996-PRESENT] presents articles in text format and contains the archive since 1996.
●    THE NEWSPAPER [1859-Present] presents articles in an image format and contains the archive since 1859.

If you choose THE NEWSPAPER [1859 - Present], you can Click on any of the articles listed to see an image of the article.  When viewing an article there is an option to Print/Download.  This will produce a pdf with an image of the article which you can either save or print.

Click Back to Search to return to the search box and list of results.

If you choose IRISHTIMES.COM [1996 - Present] you may have to re-enter some of your search criteria.  When you then Click the   symbol you will get your result list in a text format.  Click on any of the articles listed to open it.  Click on the [Irish Times1.jpeg] to open further options including a [Irish Times 2.jpg] link which allows you to print the article.

Note

If you find yourself on a screen where you don’t appear to have full text access, return to https://atu.ie/library and select ATU Sligo, go to the Databases A-Z and access the Irish Times from the start again.  Be aware also that articles from the most recent week may not be in full text within the Library’s subscription.