Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

Science Direct Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Introduction

Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full text articles in science, engineering, business and humanities journals published by Elsevier.  The library subscription includes full text of articles for approximately the past five years.  Other references include citation/abstract only.

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • library.sligo@atu.ie
  • Databases A - Z
  • Choose Science Direct from the list

You may need to enter your ATU Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

Staff:.firstname.lastname@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

Basic Search

On the Science Direct Home Page, there is a Search box allowing you to search for keywords, author names, journal titles etc.  Note: The Library’s subscription does not include access to books in the Science Direct database.


As an example, Type the term anaerobic digestion in the Keywords box and Click  .
The results of your search are listed. 
 
To view more details on an article, Click on the title of the article, or Click Abstract.  If full text is available Click the pdf link to view.  Options in the column to the left of the results list allow you to refine your search by Year,  Article Type, Publication Title, Subject areas, etc.  

 indicates that full text is available for the title.

Advanced Search

Click Advanced Search beside the search boxes at the top of the screen.
Enter water pollution on the line that says Find articles with these terms
Enter river on the line that says In this journal or book title             Click 

A list of results displays

Browsing Journal Titles

If you would like to browse alphabetically through journal titles, Click on Journals & Books at the top of the screen.  (Note that books are not included in the Library’s Science Direct subscription).  In the column on the left, to limit your browsing to full text titles only, tick the box Subscribed and complimentary under Access Type at the bottom of the screen.  Then from the same column, choose a domain (subject area), publication type or journal status.   A list of publications (mainly journals) is provided.  You can Click on one to access articles.

Extra Help

You should use the various help features available in the database.  Check the  icon at the top of the screen.