Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

Sportdiscus (EBSCO) Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Introduction

Sportdiscus includes c650 full text journals and abstracts for c970 journals in the sports sciences and related areas.  

Access

Available from the library web site:

  • library.sligo@atu.ie
  • Databases A-Z
  • Choose Sportdiscus (EBSCOhost) from the list

You may need to enter your IT Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

Staff: firstname.lastname@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

Searching

On the search screen, enter the term athletics        
(The system automatically provides you with a series of similar terms from which you may choose.  To ignore the suggestions and retain the word(s) you entered, Click the cursor in a blank portion of the screen)

The Search Options allow you to use a number of different search modes.  For example:  
Boolean/Phrase                                  athletics AND nutrition 
Find all my search terms                   athletics nutrition training
Find any of my search terms             athletics running 

Smart text searching                                   
This allows you to type a sentence or more and the database will interpret it for you.  For example,  "What role does nutrition play in an athletics training programme?" 
Another option available when searching is to use a wild card *.  For example, searching athlet* will retrieve results including athletic, athletics, athlete etc.

When you have entered your search terms and selected your options, Click Search

Your results are displayed. To ensure most recent items display at the top of the list, Click the drop down menu at Relevance at the top of the list and choose Date Newest

When viewing a list of articles a number of options are shown at the left of the screen to narrow your results:  For example:
·     Choosing Peer Reviewed will limit your results to material of an academic nature.
·     You can also limit your results by Source type, Subject, Publication etc.

For items which have a PDF full text link or a HTML full text link Click on the link to see the full text.

Combining Search Terms

Click Advanced Search just under the search box.  This brings you to a search screen which provides you with a series of boxes allowing you to create a more complex search.  For example, you could specify that all your search terms should appear in the titles of articles, or, you could search the subjects (descriptors) assigned to articles.  (Note: Clicking Clear removes previous terms from the search boxes)

 

Sportdiscus has many other features which you can explore as you become more familiar with the database. 

Extra Help

You should use the various help features available in the databases.  Check out the ? icon at each stage of the search or Click Help at the top of each screen.