i2i National Standards Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Available from the library web site:
●    https://atu.ie/library and select ATU Sligo.
●    Databases A-Z
●    Choose i2i National Standards from the list

You may need to enter your ATU Sligo user name and password:

Students: studentnumber@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 
Staff: lastname.firstname@atu.ie and ATU Sligo Password 

The main screen provides a number of search boxes.  

For example, enter the number I.S. EN 1515-1 in the Enter Document Number box and Click Search

The standard Flanges and Their Joints - Bolting - Part 1 - Selection of Bolting will be shown.

Information about the standard is provided in a series of labels across the top of the list, including Status, Version etc.

Click on the number of the standard from the list to see more details

You can either choose:
●    View Online to view the standard on screen
●    Download to download a pdf version of the standard which you can save or print

Clicking Back to Search Results at the top left of the screen moves you back to the original search screen.  Click Clear Search to clear the old search from the form so you can start a new search

For a second example, enter the term paving in the box Enter document title or keyword.
In the drop down menu under Status, Tick Current
Click Search.

In the list of results you will find, for example, the standard I.S. EN 1338 Concrete Paving Blocks - Requirements and Test Methods.

As noted above, ATU Sligo’s subscription to i2i National Standards contains full text IS (Irish), ISO (International Organisation for Standardization) and EN (European) standards.  It does not include full text for BS (British Standards).  Because different standards bodies adopt other standards, when you come across a BS standard in a search results list, although the full text of the BS is not available in SAI Global there may be an equivalent standard.

For example, at the main search screen, type the words waterproof sheeting into the box Enter document title or keyword.  From the list of results, Click BS EN 16002.  Full text for this is not available.  Choose EN 16002 from the drop down menu under Equivalences.  Full text is not available for this either as it is “Not Subscribed”.  However, if you open the drop down menu at Equivalences on this standard, the standard I.S. EN 16002 is shown as “identical”.  If you click on this you have access to the full text.

Note:  There is also a small collection of full text British Standards in the database Standards - BSOL British Standards Online listed in the A-Z database list.  See also the databases IHS and IEEExPlore which have selected standards in particular subject areas.

When viewing a list of standards you may see the following symbols:

This means the standard is currently in use

This means the standard is cancelled and no longer applies