Web of Science Quick Start Guide: Welcome

Available from the library web site:

• https://atu.ie/library and select ATU Sligo
• Databases A-Z
• Choose Web of Science from the list

You may need to enter your IT Sligo user name and password:

Students:  studentnumber@atu.ie and ATU Password
Staff:  firstname.lastname@atu.ie and ATU Password

The main search screen allows searches for Documents and Researchers.  Within the Documents tab searches can be carried out for Documents and Cited References.  This Quick Start Guide does not deal with searching for Researchers.
Select the tab for Documents.
In the drop down menu at All Fields, choose Title and enter the word pollution in the search box.
Click +Add row.
In the second row, in the drop down menu at All Fields, choose Title and enter the word lake in the search box.
Click +Add date range.
Choose Last 5 years
Click Search.
You are shown more than 5000 references which have the words "pollution" and "lake(s)" in the title of the article.

Click on the title of one of the article references in the list of results and more detailed information on the article will display, which may include an abstract or short summary.

To return to the results list, Click Results from the track at the top of the screen.

There may be the following links on the reference:  View Full Text;  Full Text at Publisher;  Full Text Finder.  

These links may allow you to view the full text of the article, sometimes by logging into another library databases.  In some cases you may see the article reference in another database, but still not be able to view full text.  You could also try searching for the article separately in the EOLAS search on the Library website.  Finally, if you wish to see full text for an article referenced, but cannot access it online, make a request through the Library's Inter Library Loan service at:  https://atu.ie/library and select ATU Sligo.  In the website go to Services – Interlibrary Loans.

To the right of each article reference, there are links to the number of references which the article lists and also, in many cases, to the articles that cite the article referenced.  Clicking on the links will result in a list of the citing articles or references.
In the grey bar at the top of the list of articles, there is a drop down menu which sorts the list by:  Relevance (default), Date (newest first), Date (oldest first), Citations: highest first, Citations: lowest first etc.

When viewing search results, a column to the left of the screen allows you to Refine your results in a number of ways: Quick Filters: Review Articles, Early Access, Open Access; Enriched Cited References; Authors;  Publication Years;  Document Types; Web of Science Categories; Affiliations; Publication Titles; Publishers etc.
For example:
To refine results by Web of Science categories, Click        to expand if necessary, then, then Click See All to view the full list of categories.  Tick toxicology and Click Refine.  The list of results will be limited to those with this aspect of lake pollution
To refine results by Author within your list of articles, Click       to expand Authors, then Click See All to view the full list of authors.  Tick the box for one of the authors listed and Click Refine.  The list of results will be limited to those where this was one of the authors.
To refine results by Funding Agency, Click         if necessary to expand Funding Agencies, then Click See All to view the full set of funding agencies.  Tick the box for one of the funding agencies listed and Click Refine.  The list of results will be limited to those where this was one of the funding agencies.