Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Libguides Library Account

Environmental Engineering: Maps

Environmental Engineering

Ordnance Survey of Ireland Print Maps in the Yeats Library

Print maps in the Yeats Library are held in a series of upright cabinets and plan drawer cabinets in the Infozone.

Most maps are listed and may be searched by keyword or other headings in the Library Print Catalogue.  There are also lists and other information regarding the maps on the cabinets themselves. In addition to providing the title of each map, the lists on the upright cabinets indicate towns and other locations found on each map as a general guide to finding the location you require.

A summary of the Ordnance Survey maps in the cabinets is provided in the tabs Upright Cabinet 1 and Upright Cabinet 2

  • Indexes
  • Characteristic Sheets
  • County Sligo, Scale 6 inches to one mile, Sheet 1-47 (Revised 1909-14, 1941-43)
  • County Sligo, Scale 25 inches to one mile, selection of sheets (Revision 1911-12, 1940-41)
  • County Leitrim, Scale 6 inches to one mile, selection of sheets (Revision 1907-10, 1943)
  • County Donegal, Scale 25 inches to one mile, sheet 106/15
  • County Mayo, Scale 25 inches to one mile, sheet LXX/6

Note:  In order to provide coverage of the island of Ireland as a whole with an integrated numbering system, the Ordnance Survey of Ireland and the Ordnance Survey of Northern Ireland use a continuous numbering system for their Discovery and Discoverer series.

  • Discovery Series/Discoverer Series, sheets 1-89, scale 1:50000, published 1991-2005
  • Ordnance Survey of Ireland, scale 1/2 inch to one mile, Sheet 3, South Donegal
  • Town Plan Sligo, scale 1:1000, 16 sheets, published 1985-1986

Ordnance Survey of Ireland Digital Maps

The National Mapping Agreement allows educational institutions to access Ordnance Survey of Ireland mapping data not normally made available to the general public.  One of the main features is the use of the premium basemaps which display a high level of detail at a large scale.     

Access to maps available under the National Mapping Agreement is at:   https://geohive.ie/nma.html

The link will bring you to a login page.

You will need to get the username and password from the Library.

When you enter your username and password, a screen will open with Introducing Geohive.

At the top of the screen choose the link Make Your Map.  This will open the map viewer for the National Mapping Agreement.  When you are finished using the Mapviewer, Click the NMA Viewer logo at the top left of the screen.  This will return you to the Introducing Geohive page.

Click Logout at the top right of the screen.  Otherwise you may not be able to access the National Mapping Agreement  Viewer again until the system times you out.

 

 

 

 

This digital map service is available on the Ordnance Survey of Ireland web site:

www.osi.ie     Services  Geohive

Or you can go directly to the mapviewer

www.osi.ie     Mapviewer

When you enter the page, a map of Ireland is displayed.

At the top right of the screen is a +/- zoom tool

Click/Hold the mouse to move the map around

There is a Search Box at the top of the screen to find particular addresses

Another tool for customising your map is the:

Data Catalogue

On a PC this appears to the left of the screen

On other devices it may be necessary to select a menu link to make it appear.

Each item you select in the data catalogue will be added as a layer to the map.

When you select an item, a Transparency tool appears allowing you to fade it in and out.

In this way you can create a map with different layers of information.

 

Geological Survey of Ireland

The GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF IRELAND (GSI), founded in 1845, is the National Earth Science Agency. It is responsible for providing geological advice and information, and for the acquisition of data for this purpose. GSI produces a range of products including maps, reports and databases and acts as a knowledge centre and project partner in all aspects of Irish geology. It is a division of the Department of Communications, Climate Action & Environment (DCCAE) and has about 70 multi-disciplinary staff.

GSI Print Maps

  • Geological Survey of Ireland.  Ireland.  Sheets 1-25.

GSI Digital Maps

The Geological Survey of Ireland's archive of digital maps and reports is called Goldmine.  This contains over 450000 pages of material.

There is a Search link which allows you to find material.  For example, searching for Sheet 7 Sligo-Leitrim finds the digital versions of the report Geology of Sligo-Leitrim and its accompanying map (which the library also holds in print versions)

The Support link provides guidance on search the database.

An alternative method of searching the database is to use the Map link.  This allows you to draw a rectangle on a base map while selecting different types of information from a menu on the left of the screen.  The system will then use this as a basis to search the database.

National Monuments Service

The National Monuments Service is part of the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht. Among its functions is surveying and compiling inventories of sites of archaeological interest.  

These data are stored in the Archaeological Survey of Ireland's Sites and Monumnents Record.  They are available as paper maps and files and in digital form in a Historic Enviroment Viewer on the National Monuments Services Website.

National Inventory of Architectural Heritage

The purpose of the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage is to identify, record and evaluate the post-1700 architectural heritage of Ireland as an aid in the protection and conservation of the built heritage.  

NMS Print Maps

The National Monumnts Service have produced paper maps and indexes based on the Sites and Monuments Record.  

The maps are based on the Ordnance Survey of Ireland Maps with each archaeological site circled.

The index allows particular sites to be searched by name.

The Yeats Library has most of these maps and booklets in stock.

They are stored in the Plan Drawer Cabinets in the maps area of the Library.

They are not used very frequently since the information was made available digitally in the Historical Environment Viewer

NMS and NIAH Digital Maps

The Historic Environment Viewer shows data from the Sites and Monuments Record of the National Monuments Service in red and from the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage in blue.  It is a single resource for built heritage data for Ireland.  

When you first access the site you see a map of Ireland.

In the top left of the screen there is a +/- zoom tool and a search box to find particular addresses and locations.

A series of icons appears to the right of the dark bar across the top of the screen.  Hovering the mouse over each of these provides a description.  The tools are as follows:

Query Data allows you to search for specific types of monuments from the Sites and Monuments Record of the National Monuments Service and the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage.  

Layer List allows you to select data from the National Monuments Service, the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage or both.

Base Map Gallery allows you to select which underlying map the monument sites are shown on - OSI Map, Aerial, Cassini 6-inch, Historic 25 inch, Historic 6 inch, Digital Globe.

Locate allows you to search for a particular pair of easting and northing coordinates and choose the coordinate system:  Irish Transverse Mercator, Irish National Grid, WGS 84

Data Export allows you to export the map data in a variety of formats for import into other systems.

Draw and Measure allows you to make some basic markings on the map