Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

Special Collections

About Special Collections

The Special Collections at Yeats Library consists of archival and specialist material from early printed books to a variety of individual collections donated to ATU Sligo over the past few decades.

The collections vary in size, format and condition. They consist of rare books, journals, works of art and printed ephemera of local and international interest. Collection items ranging from 17th century old Irish manuscripts to modern art books, have been generously donated by people, either connected to the college itself or with Sligo and surrounding areas.  Some are named after the individual doner such as the Anne Yeats Art Collection, while others have been assigned to a collection according to a theme, such as Anglo-Irish Literature.

Yeats Library has a duel role of preserving these unique items while also making them available for research.

Current Collections

Anne Yeats Art Collection

Anglo-Irish Literature – Celtic revival literature from the early 20th century Cuala Press, W.B. Yeats, Eva Gore-Booth and others

Antiquarian books

Jack Flynn Collection - history and archaeology

Political Satire - Punch, German magazines 1930's

Gaelige & Other Languages - school books from 1960's and novels- French, German, Italian

Miscellaneous- Children’s Fairy Stories, English History, Irish History

Yeats Library IT Sligo Archive

Accessing Special Collections

  • Items from Special Collections can be requested at the Library Information Desk or via email request to library.sligo@atu.ie.
  • The Special Collections room is only accessible by Yeats Library Staff.  
  • All items are strictly reference only with some reserved for use under staff supervision due to delicate condition.