Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

ScienceDirect Possible Break in Access

Since July 2018 a negotiating group representing the Institutes of Technology and Universities, comprised of librarians, a VP/Director of Research and a procurement officer has been in discussions with Elsevier regarding the renewal of the Science Direct e-journals service agreement for Irish higher education institutions, which expired at the end of December 2018. 

While access to Science Direct has continued to date, no agreement has yet been reached and I regret that it is increasingly likely that access to Science Direct will cease from February 28th until the negotiations on a renewal are concluded. 

Further contacts with Elsevier are planned over the coming weeks in the hope that a deal can be reached soon.

Jim Foran, Librarian

Off Campus Access to Databases

""You will be prompted to sign in when accessing the electronic resources off-campus or if you are using your own WiFi hotspot on campus. 

Students - use your student number as your username and your college password that you use to login to a PC or access Moodle.

Don't forget you can reset your password in the student hub.

Staff - use your computer log in as your username and your normal password.

If you run into problems the easiest  fix  is:

  • Change browser to Firefox or Chrome
  • Delete Cookies 
  • Use a personal device and not a workplace one. 

Copyright and Licences

Access to electronic information resources such as abstracting and indexing databases, electronic journals and electronic books is subject to copyright law and license agreements.

Users can search, retrieve, print and download, providing it is for educational purposes only. The following is prohibited:

  • Multiple copying of printed or downloaded material (some databases do allow this for course packs)
  • Excessive amounts of material downloaded from a database or publication (which includes one complete issue from a journal volume)
  • Removing any copyright references or watermarks from downloaded or printed material and/or distributing copies of such material
  • The use of e-resources for economic gain or commercial activity

Some of our databases do not allow you to upload in Moodle.

Because we are legally obliged to report any unauthorized use we keep the following data for 180 days:

We keep note of who access the databases, what date and time, and what ip address they use to access the databases, and also how much data they download. We also cut off access to databases temporarily if you go over the allowed download limit.

Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...