Skip to main content

Databases: Welcome

What is a Library Database?


""

A website that contains organised data. E-books, journal articles, book reviews, magazine articles, images, newspaper articles or streaming video. Search them using subject terms, author, title or keywords.

Why not just use a search engine like Google?

Anyone can write content for the web. It might be biased, inaccurate or illegal. If you are using Google, you will need to learn to evaluate your sources

What about Google Scholar or Pubmed ?

Google Scholar and Pubmed are excellent if used in the correct way, linked to the library and if you double-check if the article is peer-reviewed etc. You still have to be careful using articles from Google Scholar. (see article link below)

You should use library databases. They don't need payment. Librarians and Lecturers chose the databases to suit your courses. They should have more than enough content for your needs at the undergraduate level.  Pubmed will ask for a credit card for full text. The same article could be in full text through one of the library databases and will not need payment.

FAQS

What is Eolas?

Eolas is a discovery search. It's a product that makes it easier for you to search for information resources such as ebooks, print books, journal articles and standards. It is a search interface for most of the library databases and quite a lot of open access resources too.

If you use Eolas you don't have to perform a search in Science Direct, followed by another search in Emerald and then JSTOR.  Think of it like a one-stop search. Eolas is great for undergraduates and is a great starting point but if you are in 4th year or are doing a postgrad you should probably be doing database searches, as there are more features, and you have more control over your searches.

What is EBSCOhost?

We get quite a few databases from EBSCO, and EBSCOhost is just all those databases stuck under the one interface. Eolas is a separate EBSCO product. 

How to access the databases

" "

From the library website click the A-Z Databases Link. Then find the database you want from the list and click on the title. We will link help guides and give information on the various databases from  that web page. If you need extra help searching the databases just email the library and book as tutorial. 

Help

Off Campus Access to Databases

You will be prompted to sign in when accessing the electronic resources off-campus or if you are using your own WiFi hotspot on campus. 

Use your college email address  and your college password.

If you run into problems the easiest  fix  is:

  • Change browser to Firefox or Chrome
  • Delete Cookies 
  • Use a personal device and not a workplace one.