Skip to main content

Safety and Health: Databases

Library Databases

As you gather information on your subject, you may want to explore certain topics in more depth.  

Searching individual library databases is a way to do this.  

Each database has a range of search tools which allow you to build your information search accurately.

You may find useful information in any of the Library databases but for Science you might start with those on the right:

IHS; Science Direct (Elsevier); Emerald; Academic Search Complete; Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost); Ebook Central (Proquest); Web of Science (Thomson Reuters); Ebook Central (Proquest); 

IHS

There is a range of health and safety information and documents from bodies such as the HSA, Health and Safety Executive (UK) etc. available in the database:

 

Science Direct

Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full text articles in science, engineering, business and humanities journals published by Elsevier.  The library subscription includes full text of articles for approximately the past five years.  Other references will include citation/abstract only

Access through the Library website or using this link 

Emerald

Emerald provides access to full text articles from over 170 peer reviewed business, management and quality assurance journals and also includes some engineering titles.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete contains c6600 full text journals, the majority of which are peer reviewed.  A broad range of subjects is covered in the humanities, social science, science and engineering.

Access the database through the library website or using this link:

Web of Science

Web of Science provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles and other information in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities.  Web of Science does not contain full text articles.  Where there are full text articles in another databases however, a full text link is sometimes available.  While the lack of full text may be a disadvantage for someone requiring information quickly for an assignment, Web of Science does provide coverage of a wide range of publications and subject areas over a long time span and so is useful for putting together lists of material to be consulted for research.  For items which appear to be valuable or have relevance, full text may be obtained via the Interlending/Document Supply service of the Yeats Library.

EBSCO Ebook Academic Collection

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) contains over 150000 ebooks in full text

Ebook Central contains a small collection of c 70 Ebooks 

The Print Catalogue allows you to search for print books on the library shelves.