LibGuides: Civil Engineering: Databases

Databases

The most relevant databases for you to use are:

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This is a multidisciplinary resource - providing ebooks for many different subject areas. The collection includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many more. Included in Eolas
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central
- This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (provided by Proquest) contains a small but growing collection of individual ebooks purchased by the library. These are multi-disciplinary and are very specific to your courses.

Included in Eolas and in the Library Catalogue
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records. Open access full text for more than 13,000 records.

Included in Eolas
IHS Markit Provides resources for construction including Eurocode design tables, product and supplier information for both construction and design & manufacturing industries, technical standards legislation and technical guidance.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR JSTOR includes journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The collections available include Arts & Sciences I -VII, Ireland Collection, and Life Sciences Collection. More information on the resource is available here. Included in Eolas
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect
- This link opens in a new window
Science Direct provides access to abstracts and full text articles in science, engineering, business and humanities journals published by Elsevier. This database is useful for a range of subjects including finance, marketing, psychology, social sciences, tourism civil engineering and electronic engineering.
BSOL British Standards Online (25 Standards)
- This link opens in a new window
25 British Standards used by ATU Sligo staff and students. Please contact the library if you would like to see a British Standard added.
More standards are also available from these databases: IEEE Xplore, IHS and i2i National Standards.

Not Included in Eolas
i2i National Standards Full-text access to NSAI, ISO and EN standards. More standards are available from these databases: IEEE Xplore and IHS Markit.
- This link opens in a new window

Accessing Library Databases

Information available in library databases can be accessed by EOLAS the main search tool on the library website or by going directly to the Database A-Z.

The majority of databases can be accessed through EOLAS however, the databases listed below are not included in EOLAS. Go directly to the Database A-Z to access these databases.

Bloomsbury Professional Online
BSOL British Standards
Digital Theatre +
Euromonitor (Passport)
i2i National Standards
IHS Markit
Irish Newspaper Archive
Irish Times Archive
LexiNexis
Mintel Market Reports
Web of Science
World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)

To access the Database A-Z scroll down the website to the section below.

From the library website click the Databases A-Z Link. Then find the database you want from the list and click on the title. Help guides will link and give information on the various databases from this web page. If you need extra help searching the databases just email the library and book as tutorial.